The Animates

Long, long ago from Never Ever Land, a tired but happy band of Animates wanders through the forest looking for a home. They find a clearing in the forest outside the Personates’ town where they make their home. Their new village is friendly and warm village whereas the Personates’ village is cold and not very friendly.

The Animates agree to help the Personates all that they can.

Animates Film Productions

Produced: 1978

13 episodes x 5 minutes

Written By Sylvia Anderson

Music by Vic Elmes and Roger Flavelle

Puppetry by Stage Three

Character Voices by Sylvia Anderson and Roy Dotrice

Puppets and Sets made by Peter Holmes

Cameraman Ian Struthers

Film Editor Mick Monks

Executive Producer Sylvia Anderson

Producer Roger Gawn

Directed by Stuart Freeman

The club has three episodes in its archive, but is keen to know more about the series – especially a full episode list and broadcast dates. Contact us at if you can help.

Episodes List
1 The Silver Jubilee

Mopey the monkey finds his way into the Personate palace and meets the King.

Wizzy the wise owl agrees to be the King’s counsellor and help the Personate learn to laugh and be kind to each other.

2 The Missing Crown Jewels

Mafiamate steals the Crown Jewels and ensures that Mopey gets the blame.

Carla the Catmate sees the jewels whilst cleaning Mafiamate’s windows and clears Mopey’s reputation, and Mopey learns that honesty always pays.

3 Finders Not Keepers

Mopey finds Bossmate’s lost watch when he’s gardening with Brenda the bushbaby, and keeps it.

When Mopey comes clean and returns the watch, the King decides to reward him with his own watch.