SKU: SILVA-UFO-LP Categories: ,


Please note that Silva Screen albums will be despatched separately to other items in your shopping basket.

After a decade of creating pioneering puppet series made for children, Gerry and Sylvia Anderson took their first steps into live-action, with the 1969 feature film Doppelgänger (re-titled outside Britain as Journey To The Far Side Of The Sun). This science-fiction film approached its outer space subject matter with a gritty realism, and would set the tone for what was to be their first live-action television series: UFO.

This new series took as a starting point the pioneering work of Dr Christiaan N. Barnard, the surgeon who performed the world’s first heart transplant operation. In UFO a dying race of aliens travel across vast distances of space to harvest organs from human beings to help ensure their own survival. To combat this threat the United Nations created SHADO, a top-secret organisation utilising the latest technology available to defend the Earth.

To complement the series, the Andersons’ frequent musical collaborator Barry Gray created a multifaceted score that gave the programme its own musical identity. Elegantly crafted and a firm favourite with Barry Gray fans, the sound of UFO, particularly its ethereal “World Music” closing credits is, quite simply, a joy.

Includes a bonus track, Trampoline performed by The Spencer Davis Group from the episode Ordeal.


“For many fans, the long wait for music from UFO is finally over. There have been some tantalizing excerpts on a few earlier Silva releases, now out of print, so this 70-minute outing is a very welcome addition indeed for any fan of Barry Gray’s music.”

FSM 4*

” …all swinging Hammond, kicking drums and spooky space drama.”
“From the thrilling go-go opener to the end titles, this is superb, distinctive and quite addictive in that you listen and wait for the killer drum or saucy organ to kick in.”
“It’s classic, hip, out there and a very worthy addition to any TV soundtrack collection.”

Record Collector 5*


Side A

  1. UFO Main Titles
  2. S.H.A.D.O.
  3. E.S.P. from E.S.P.
  4. Flashback from Confetti Check A-O.K.
  5. The Choice from Confetti Check A-O.K.

Side B

  1. Space Junk from Conflict
  2. Straker and the General from Conflict
  3. A Rose for Sylvia from Ordeal
  4. Harlington Straker from Identified
  5. Alien from Identified
  6. Travelling Home from Ordeal
  7. The Trip from The Long Sleep  

Side C

  1. Taken from Ordeal
  2. Crash Landing / Dreambox from Ordeal
  3. The Leisure Sphere from Survival
  4. Enemy my Friend from Survival
  5. Bonus Track – Trampoline from Ordeal – The Spencer Davis Group

Side D

  1. The Affair from The Square Triangle
  2. A Day at the Studio from A Question of Priorities
  3. Who Are You? / John’s Death from A Question of Priorities
  4. UFO End Titles

Additional information


UK, Europe, Rest of World


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…